May 12th, 2008

Minutes OF 1ST BOS- HEALTH SCIENCES

Minutes of the meeting of the Board of Studies HBNI held at Digital Library, Tata Memorial Hospital, and today on 9th May 2008 at 2.00 p.m.

The first meeting of BOS for Health sciences was held at Digital Library, Tata Memorial Hospital on 9th May 2008 at 2.00 p.m.

The following committee members were present Prof. K.M. Mohandas Convener Prof. Rajeev Sarin Member Prof. N.A. Jambhekar Prof. KB Sainis Prof. Shobna Bhatia Prof. Raman Sarin Prof. MGR Rajan The following members could not attend as they were out of station. Prof. RA Badwe Prof. SK Shrivastava Prof. AN Supe

Following items on the agenda were discussed:

 Approval of teachers from Radiation Medicine Centre. Board reviewed the applications of six doctors listed below becoming Guide for DRM/MD Nuclear Medicine as well as PG Teachers for DRM & DMRIT Course at Radiation Medicine Centre. The board recommended the following.

Sr. No.	Name of Guide/ Teacher	Subject	With effect from	Remarks
1	Dr. S Basu	Nuclear Medicine	Approved as a Guide and PG Teacher from Jan 1 2008	Nil
2	Dr. G Malhotra	Nuclear Medicine	Approved as a Guide and PG Teacher from April 1 2008	Nil
3	Dr. RV Asopa	Nuclear Medicine	Not approved as a Guide. Approved as a PG teacher for PG diploma	Doesn't have a MCI approved PG qualification
4	Dr. P Kand	Nuclear Medicine	Not approved as a Guide. Approved as a PG teacher for PG diploma	Doesn't have a MCI approved experience
5	Dr. AR Agarwal	Nuclear Medicine	Not approved as a Guide. Approved as a PG teacher for PG diploma	Doesn't have a MCI approved experience

)

- 1. Theory: To obtain a minimum of 50% in each of the four papers.
- 2. Viva: To obtain a minimum of 50% in viva.

3. Practical: To obtain a minimum of 50% aggregate in Long + Short cases combined. The minimum for each case shall be not less than 40%.

- The board approved the list of DMER selected students to be registered at HBNI for the year 2008.
- 6. The board reviewed the list of MUHS approved teachers for Degree/Diploma in Anesthesia, Pathology, Radiotherapy, medical Oncology and Surgical Oncology at TMC and approved their continuation as teachers for new batch of students being admitted to HBNI. The Dean Academic of TMC said that all these teachers and other teachers eligible to become Guide for MD would be asked to apply to HBNI to confirm their status as Guides in HBNI.
- The board approved adopting the Postgraduate Syllabus of AIIMS at HBNI until the BOS comes out with our own syllabus keeping in mind the MCI requirements by the end of 2008.
- 8. Conduct of CET for year 2009.

The Convener explained the guidelines and timelines established by Supreme Court for conducting CET for selecting students. A detailed proposal for conducting the exams will be put up at the next board meeting based on the MCI and Supreme Court Guidelines.

- 9. The board approved the existing norms and ordinances for conducting M.Phil and PhD courses in health science subjects at HBNI.
- 10. A brief discussion of starting new courses related to health sciences was discussed. This included:
 - M.Phil courses (Two years) in Clinical Oncology, Epidemiology and Statistics, Clinical trials
 - M.Tech courses in Medical Isotope technology, Medical Physics, Medical Laboratory technology)
 - c. PhD (Health Sciences)

ALC: NOTICE

WEIGHTENST THE

- 11. A proposal was made by Dean-TMC for shifting the short courses at TMC being held in agreement with SNDT and other universities. One of the reasons was that SNDT accepts only female students. A detailed proposal will be presented in next BOS meeting.
- 12. Committee agreed to follow tuition fee structure of MUHS. Govt. of Maharashtra of Rs.18000/- tuition fee present year –2008.

13. A brief discussion was held on running joint residency programs between TMC and BARC hospital to meet the needs for non-oncology exposure. The need for getting BARC hospital approved for training by MCI was made. Dr. Sainis stated that several of BARC hospitals department were running the DNB courses already.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks.

Prof. K.M. Mohandas

Prof. Rajeev Sarin

Prof. KB Sainis

Prof. MGR Rajan

Prof. Ramon Sareen

Ramon Sareen Prof. NA Jambhekar Raman Sareen

C: C tu. Dean HBNI Dean BARC Dean TMC.