

*Issue No. 07 | June 2022* 

## **Augazi** NEWSLETTER

## होमी भाभा राष्ट्रिय संस्थान Homi Bhabha National Institute

( परमाणु ऊर्जा विभाग की सहायता प्राप्त संस्था और यूजीसी अधिनियम 1956 की धारा 3 के तहत विश्वविद्यालय माना जाता हे )

(An Aided Institution of the Department of Atomic Energy and a Deemed-to-be University Under Section 3 of the UGC Act. 1956)

## Awards and Honours received by HBNI Faculty and Students

**June 2022** 

अणुविद्या

- 1. Prof. Shailesh V. Shrikhande. Has been awarded the Honorary Fellowship of the American Surgical Association (ASA) in 2021. He is the First Indian Cancer Surgeon and the only second Indian ever to be awarded the Honorary Fellowship of the American Surgical Association (ASA) in its 141-year-old history
- **2.** Dr. Subhankar Mishra, NISER has been awarded Fulbright-Nehru Academic & Professional Excellence Award by United States- India Educational Foundation.
- **3.** Dr. M. Vasudevan, IGCAR has been elected as a Fellow of Indian Institute of Metals in 2021.
- 4. Dr. Oishee Chakrabarti, SINP has been elected as a Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences.
- 5. Prof. Sanoli Gun, IMSc, has been elected a member of the Asia-Pacific association for Women in Mathematics.
- 6. Prof. Meena Mahajan, IMSc, has been elected as a Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences.
- Dr. C. Murali Krishna, TMC has been elected as a Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC) in 2021.
- Prof. Aditi Sen De, HRI has been elected a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences. She has been also awarded Rupa Chakravarty Memorial Silver Medal as a distinguished ex-Bethunite from Bethune College for the year 2021.
- 9. Dr. Vinita Gupta, BARC has been elected as a Fellow of Maharashtra Academy of Sciences.
- Dr. Santosh Gupta, BARC has been elected as a Young Associate of Maharashtra Academy of Sciences.
- 11. Dr. Brindaban Modak, BARC has been elected as a Young Associate of Maharashtra Academy of Sciences.
- **12.** Dr. A. Guleria, BARC has been elected as a Young Associate of Maharashtra Academy of Sciences.
- **13.** Dr. Sunita Sonavane, RMC-BARC has been awarded European Fellowship in Nuclear Medicine in the year 2021.
- 14. Prof. A. K. Tyagi, BARC has been selected for the prestigious A V Rama Rao Foundation Lecture Award in Chemistry for the year 2022 by Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bengaluru. He has also received N R Dhar Memorial Award from National Academy of Sciences in 2021.
- **15.** Prof. P. A. Hassan, BARC has received Prof. J. N. Mukherjee Memorial Award from Indian Chemical Society.
- **16.** Dr. S. N. Achary, Dr. R. Tripathi, and Dr. Deb Mukhopadhyay, BARC, all faculty of HBNI have received the prestigious Homi Bhabha Science & Technology Award for the year 2020.

## अणुविद्या

- Dr. Manimala Mitra, IoP has been awarded Institute for Particle Physics Phenomenology (IPPP) DIVA Award 2022-2023.
- **18.** Prof. Vijay Kodiyalam, IMSc has received V. Ramaswamy Aiyer Memorial Award Lecture by the Indian Mathematical Society.
- **19.** Prof. Sitabhra Sinha, IMSc, has been awarded P. C. Mahalanobis National Award for the year 2021, by the Government of India's Ministry of Statistics Programme Implementation.
- **20.** Prof. Amritanshu Prasad, IMSc. was recognized in the Book "75 under 50: Scientists Shaping Today's India" published by VigyanPrasar, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India
- 21. Dr. Shantanu Kumar Karkari, IPR has been awarded JaiduttSaraswatiSodha PSSI Plasma Award 2021 by Plasma Society of India for "Laboratory Experiments and Modelling of Low Temperature Magnetized Plasmas."
- **22.** Dr. Mainak Bandopadhyay and Dr. Sarveshwar Sharma, IPR have received IOP Outstanding Reviewer Award.
- 23. Prof. C. S. Pramesh, TMC has been elected the Board of Directors, Union for International Cancer Control (UICC). He has also received LifetimeAchievement award for clinical research by Indian Society of Clinical Research, Inspiring Healthcare Leaders of India award and Rachel Pearline Global Cancer Research Humanitarian award by National Cancer Institute, USA
- 24. Prof. Shripad D. Banavali, TMC has received "Dr. GS Bhattacharyya Memorial Oration" from Carcinogenesis Foundation, India. He has also been elected as President of Indian Society of Pediatric Hematology-Oncology.
- 25. Dr. Rohan Jayant Khadilkar, TMC has received Har Gobind Khorana-Innovative Young Biotechnologist Award for 2021. He has also been awarded prestigious Ramalingaswami Re-entry Fellowship by the Department of Biotechnology, Government of India
- **26.** Prof. Sharmila Banerjee, TMC has received Marie Curie Memorial Award by The Indian Chemical Societyin 2021.
- Dr. Vibhuti Bhushan Tiwari, Dr Alok Dube, Dr. P. K. Mukhopadhyay, Prof. K. S. Bindra, Prof. S. R. Mishra and Prof. J. A. Chakera, RRCAT were awarded Best Poster Awards in the National Laser Symposium held at RRCAT in January 2022.
- **28.** Mr. Vivek Singh, PhD (Engg. Sci.), RRCAT has been awarded Best Poster Award in the National Laser Symposium held at RRCAT in January 2022.
- **29.** Dr. Abhishek Chaterjee, PhD (Engg. Sci.), RRCAT has been awarded Best Thesis Award by Indian Laser Association during the National Laser Symposium held at RRCAT in January 2022.
- **30.** Dr. A. N. Jinoop, PhD (Engg. Sci.), RRCAT has been awarded Best Thesis Award by Indian Laser Association during the National Laser Symposium held at RRCAT in January 2022.
- 31. Ms. Samruddhi Deolekar, HBNI Student from TMC, Mumbai has won the overall Gold Medal (435 kg) along with Gold Medal in squat (180 kg), Silver Medal in bench press (90 kg) and Gold Medal in deadlift (165 kg) in the Junior National Powerlifting Championship held at Udaipur, Rajasthan during January 2 to January 6, 2022.